The making of a “scrap-ghan”

All yarn-ists, will inevitably have the issue of too many left over scrap balls. I found myself in this predicament recently and it was stressing me out. So many small balls of yarn taking up space, not big enough to do anything spectacular with, yet still enough to be unable justify just tossing them. I spent weeks trying to figure out what to do with them and then one day inspiration struck!
I love blankets, I’m notorious for heading straight to blanket sections of thrift stores and can whole heartily admit I have too many. However, when you live in New England and winter strikes, nothing is better than curling up on your couch wrapped in soft cozy blankets!
With that in mind, I made the scrap-ghan!

img_3084
Get it scrap-afghan, scrap-ghan!? Anyway….
The stitch choice is crucial in my opinion, get it wrong and the blanket ends up a hot mess. I settled on a C2C ( corner to corner ). It works up quickly and makes a soft drape.

img_3086
If you need instructions for this stitch, I highly suggest watching The Crochet Crowd video on YouTube.

My first step was to gather all my scrap balls and pair them up by size. I tried my best to keep one light color with one dark color, didn’t always work, but hey I tried. I should also note that I made sure to use all the same weight yarn to keep it cohesive. Mine are all worsted weight.
Next I grabbed my N-hook. Went with the large hook here because I held two strands of yarn together the whole time, hence the pairing of sizes!!
And then, just C2C, I had plenty of yarn and extended it into a rectangular shape as opposed to the typical square. This took me about a week to make, had issues with a certain someone being obsessed with it!

img_3100
We had a lot of that going on….
What started as a way to use up yarn, quickly became my family’s favorite blanket! Everyone who sees it loves it and want their own. It’s so soft, warm, and squishy.

img_3085
So save up all those leftovers and make a new blanket for your home. 😍

One thought on “The making of a “scrap-ghan”

Leave a Reply

