DIY witches broom

Fall is here!!!!!! Ok, got a little excited about that. Today was crisp and cool with the perfect amount of sun and breeze. I decided the perfect day to finally make a witches broom for the front step.
Again, I spent no money on this craft and you can too!
So, let’s play!
Supplies:
-a long stick or branch depending on the size you want. Go on a hike, crunch some leaves underfoot, bring home supplies. šŸ˜œ
-older straw broom. I got mine from my grandparents basement. I believe you can purchase them cheaply though.
-twine/rope/string, whichever makes you happy. šŸ˜Š
– scissors, perhaps a hammer ( ? ) these tools depend on your broom. Mine was extremely old and required a bit of stubborn brute strength to dismantle!

1474939173848
As you can see my broom had a welded metal bar wrapped around it. I proceeded to pick up my phone and call my brother. He came right over and applied the above mentioned brute strength!!
Anyway, you need to first remove the straw from the broom. After the metal was removed and he uncoiled the wire at the top, I cut the rope from center pieces and begin pulling the straw out.

img_2948
Next spread your straw out, keeping it thick enough to hide the stick.
Place your stick on the straw. I placed my stick pretty far in on purpose.

img_2950
Cover the top and sides of the stick. Take your string/twine/rope and pull it tight around the bundle ( keeping close to the top ) tie a knot.
( or you know have brother do this too! )

img_2951
Continue wrapping the top of your broom until you’re happy with the look. Tie it off, display your pretty.
Tada you’ve made a witches broom for your porch! Or your brother basically did, but it was your idea and you told him what to do, so same thing right?!

img_2952

Leave a Reply

