Soften that yarn, save yourself some dollars 😄

I originally started as a crocheter making Amigurumi.  Due to that, I have a ridiculous plethora of Red Heart Super Saver kicking around.

Everyone knows cost wise Red Heart won’t let you down however if you’re after soft and cuddly you’re better off steering clear and paying that little bit extra.  But, if you need a lot of yarn for a project, that “little bit” extra can quickly become a lot extra! So in the spirit of saving money and using up what’s on hand, I’ve set up a step by step on how to make that scratchy super saver much nicer to touch.

I have one disclaimer here: Do not attempt this unless you own a washing machine or the patience level of a saint. I have neither…..good times.

What you need:

  • Hair conditioner ( any brand you have on hand is fine )
  • Finished project ( I highly recommend making your blanket, hat,scarf, whatever first)
  • Washing machine or patience of a saint



I ended up with this conditioner in a holiday pack, I don’t actually use conditioner so my yarn gets some fancy treatment! You don’t have to use anything super expensive, the results are the same.

First, lightly wet your piece. I used a bowl, filled it up, dunked in my scarf, and dumped the water out immediately. You don’t want it dripping wet.



I then give it a quick roll to squeeze out any extra water. 



Now the fun, squeeze some conditioner into your hand and gently rub it into the yarn.  You don’t want to overly agitate the yarn, I used small circular motions. This is what my scarf looked like “conditioned”.



You can see a slight white tinge to the colors.

Let sit for 1 – 2 hours.

Rinse time! If you have a machine ( whatever, stop bragging ) put the piece in on the gentlest RINSE ONLY cycle. For those of you who fit into the “cool” club of having to this by hand, I found using the tub the easiest. Hold it directly under the tap for maximum water penetration.

Make sure you have rinsed out all conditioner. Use the drying time wisely, block now if you need to! 

The results, much softer almost silky feeling yarn. The best part, everytime you wash the piece from this point on, the softer it becomes. 😃

One thought on “Soften that yarn, save yourself some dollars 😄

Leave a Reply

